Sweet potato & tricolor quinoa burgers

 

DSC_0502

 

DSC_0499

 

DSC_0500

 

DSC_0496

 

I LOVE quinoa! I have it most days for lunch in a salad. It’s a big superfood – gluten free, nutritionally dense and a complete protein! I’m slowly become a vegan; I’ve given up dairy and cutting back on meat and eggs. So knowing quinoa is 20% protein makes it even more appealing! These sweet and spicy burgers were a great way to switch up my usual quinoa salad. They taste heavenly are filling without being too heavy – perfect for lunch or light dinner 🙂

Instructions

1 medium sweet potato

1 small red onion

1 garlic clove

1/2 cup cooked tricolor quinoa (I cooked mine in some veggie stock to add taste)

1/2 cup gluten free bread crumbs

Small handful chopped fresh coriander

Small handful chopped fresh basil

1 large egg, lightly beaten

salt & pepper (I used pink Himalayan salt)

olive oil for frying

Instructions

Peel and slice the sweet potato into small cubes and dice the onion and garlic. Place a frying pan over medium heat and add a splash of olive oil. Add the sweet potato, onion, garlic, coriander, salt and pepper and cook for 10-12 minutes, or until potato is soft.

Transfer the cooked mixture to a mixing bowl and add quinoa, breadcrumbs, mix and mash. Add the egg, then mix again until moistened. Using your hands to bring it together, form four equally-sized burgers. Heat the frying pain over medium heat and add olive oil. Add burgers and cook for 3-4 minutes per side, or until golden brown. I had mine with avocado cream – a Deliciously Ella Recipe. But I’d also recommend having them with a spicy tomato relish or in a pitta with some fresh salad!

4 thoughts on “Sweet potato & tricolor quinoa burgers

  1. I looooove quinoa too! And veggie burgers! So I’m pretty sure I’d be a fan of these – they look brilliant! xxxxx

Leave a comment